Yahoo Spamming this Blog?
I received a strange comment (spam) from an user nicknamed John complimenting this blog. He provided his web address as www.yahoo.com and gave his email as john@yahoo.com.
It was suspicious because Yahoo is not known to engage in such behavior. No decent company in their right mind would.
The IP address recorded was 202.149.50.6. Not surprisingly it was allocated to the city of Milton in Australia. So obviously it wasn't the work of Yahoo.
This has the tell-tale sign of tracker spam I had blogged about recently. Someone is checking the spammability of my blog.
What do you think?
Filed under Pro Blogging, Spam Watch, Web |
|
RSS 2.0 |
Trackback this Article
|
Email this Article
You may also like to read |




































July 8th, 2005 at 10:39 am
It could just happen to be a legitimate comment from John, an employee of Yahoo, or an individual who did not want to include his real email address and website. Either way, it doesn’t sound like spam, and Yahoo has no reason to spam blogs.
July 8th, 2005 at 11:17 am
I did mention that it wasn’t the work of Yahoo (I just modified the post to highlight it so as not to give a wrong impression).
The exact comment is:
“nice blog. keep it up. visit us atjohn”
john links to yahoo.com.
I agree. It could be a normal comment too. I get suspicious when people writes unrelated comment and provides false information. Anonymous comments are welcome so long they are relevant to the context. In this case that was what triggered me to a pattern I had observed earlier - anonymous irrelevant(in context) comments.
I just approved the comment. Within a few days I guess I will know if I was smoking the wrong gun
Let me know what you think.
November 13th, 2006 at 12:35 pm
When I see somebody spammy or using one of my guestbooks, I go to the control panel for that guestbook and edit the entry to make the person look bad. Like I did to KKKRRAA- I changed to something like- “KKKRRAA is big thief and fag. Come to— where biggest fag is Michael Jackson”.
That was on the results from Google and every other search until that spammer stopped invading guestbooks. Then I took the entry off the guestbook.